Maharashtra Election 2024 Sees Record Turnout: EC Reports 52.93% Voter Participation

Maharashtra Election 2024: In the upcoming Maharashtra Lok Sabha elections, the BJP has decided to stick with Union Minister Danve for the Jalna constituency, while Sujay Vikhe Patil will contest from Ahmednagar. Additionally, former state minister Pankaja Munde has been chosen to represent the party in Beed.

Maharashtra Election 2024

Maharashtra Election 2024: Polling is underway for the fourth phase of Lok Sabha polls to 11 constituencies in Maharashtra.

The 11 constituencies – Nandurbar, Jalgaon, Raver, Jalna, Aurangabad, Maval, Pune, Shirur, Ahmednagar, Shirdi, and Beed – cover central Marathwada, as well as the northern and western parts of the state. Among the notable candidates vying for these seats are Union Ministers Raosaheb Danve and Bharati Pawar, BJP leader Pankaja Munde, actor Amol Kolhe, and sitting MPs Sujay Vikhe-Patil, Heena Gavit, Raksha Khadse, along with Congress MLA Ravindra Dhangekar.

Maharashtra Election 2024

Maharashtra Election 2024: In the 11 constituencies covered in the fourth phase, there are a total of 2,28,01,151 registered voters, including 1,18,59,645 men, 1,09,40,234 women, and 1,272 third-gender individuals. Notable leaders like Priyanka Gandhi, Raj Thackeray, Nitin Gadkari, Sharad Pawar, Eknath Shinde, Devendra Fadnavis, and Ajit Pawar, among others, conducted rallies in various constituencies.

Maharashtra boasts 48 Lok Sabha seats, second only to Uttar Pradesh’s 80. So far, voting has taken place for 24 of these seats in the initial three phases of elections.

At 9:30 pm, it was reported that more than 52.93% of voters turned out today across all 48 Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra.

At 5 pm, Sachin Bhosale, the Shiv Sena (UBT) chief in Pimpri Chinchwad, was arrested by the police for disrupting the work of election officers. Apparently, there was chaos inside a polling booth at Barne School in Thergaon, leading the poll officials to file a complaint with the Wakad Police against Bhosale. He was released on bail shortly after.

At around 4 pm, there was a sudden burst of rain and hailstorm in some areas of Karjat, Khopoli, and Khalapur while people were voting for the Maval Lok Sabha constituency. Luckily, the rain didn’t seem to disrupt the voting process.

Maharashtra Election 2024

At 2:25 pm, actor Sonali Kulkarni cast her vote and encouraged others to do the same. She shared a message on her social media, emphasizing the importance of fulfilling our duty by exercising our right to vote. She urged everyone to participate in the electoral process.

Maharashtra Election 2024

As of 2 pm, among the six assembly constituencies, Kasba Peth has seen the highest voter turnout with 31.1% recorded by 1 pm, closely followed by Kothrud with 29.1% by the same time. The slowest turnout has been in Pune Cantonment, where only 23.21% of voters have cast their votes thus far.

At 12:57 pm, the Pune Congress chief, Arvind Shinde, couldn’t cast his vote because he stated that someone had already voted using his name.

At 12:46 pm, there was a significant increase in voter turnout for the Pune Lok Sabha seat. It surged to 16.16% within the first four hours (until 11 am) from just 6.61% in the initial two hours (until 9 am).

12 pm: Pankaja Munde, the BJP candidate from Beed parliamentary constituency, voted at a polling station in Beed.

11:31 am: During mock polls for the Shirur Lok Sabha seat, several ballot units, control units, and VVPATs were replaced. Similarly, in Pune, a number of ballot units, control units, and VVPATs were changed during mock polls.

11:19 am: Chandrakant Khaire, the Shiv Sena (UBT) candidate for the Aurangabad Lok Sabha seat, expressed satisfaction with the voter turnout after casting his vote in Chhatrapati Sambhajinagar, Maharashtra.

10:53 am: Imtiaz Jaleel, the AIMIM candidate from Aurangabad, cast his vote in his constituency. The Shiv Sena (UBT) has fielded Chandrakant Khaire, while Shiv Sena has fielded Sandipan Bhumare from Aurangabad.

10:39 am: Pankaja Munde, the BJP candidate from Beed parliamentary constituency, urged people to vote, reflecting on the importance of the day and the support she feels from her late father, Gopinath Munde.

10:29 am: BJP leader Prakash Javadekar expressed confidence in securing more seats than the last election in Maharashtra due to the “Modi wave” and people’s focus on their future.

9:51 am: Women showed enthusiasm for voting at a women-run booth in Cummins College of Engineering in the Kothrud constituency.

9:15 am: Pankaja Munde, the BJP candidate from Beed, expressed positivity and confidence in winning the election after facing challenges and sensing a shift in people’s mindset.

9 am: Vishambhar Choudhari and his wife couldn’t vote as their names were missing from the voter’s list.

8:47 am: The Pune Police enforced a ban on mobile phones within 200 meters of a polling booth in Moshi, receiving cooperation from the public.

8:30 am: Union Minister Raosaheb Patil Danve, the BJP candidate for the Jalna Lok Sabha seat, cast his vote at a polling booth in Jalna, Maharashtra.

7 am: Voting began across the region.

Read More about: Maharashtra Phase 3 Election Witnesses Remarkable Surge in Voter Turnout Amid Intense Competition

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top